Posted by: Modern Mom | October 9, 2011

Little Ghoulies

Fall is my favorite season, and with it comes one of my favorite holidays – Halloween. I love the season of coming indoors, baking, fires, snugly comforters, and of course Halloween decorating. Lately I’ve been trying to occupy some of my 3-year-old’s time and energy with “craft time”. It’s something I enjoy, and I thought we would have fun doing crafty things together. Decorating for the season seemed a perfect chance to put his craft time to work.

His ability and attention span, however, limit our project choices. To put it bluntly, he has the attention span of a gnat. So I’ve had to simplify what we do together. Mostly it involves cutting and pasting paper because that’s really his favorite thing to do. A mom can only take so much cutting a pasting of unidentifiable objects. So, I do like to rein it in and try to do something seasonal and creative when I can. Today we made “ghoulies”. They’re silly and simple, but he loved it.

There’s nothing to them, and I think they turned out adorable. He even figured out he could use them as puppets and put on a show. So the simple instructions are, roll a piece of paper into a cone, trim the bottom edge so it sits, then add eyes, mouth and a little pipe-cleaner hair. It only took a few minutes, which was perfect.

I adapted the idea from a blog I enjoy called Fun Family Crafts. You can find it here.

Responses

  1. Ruthie and I made these today. Of course, ours all turned into animals… (girls.. šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Ahh… the difference between boys and girls.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

