Posted by: Modern Mom | December 13, 2011

Personal Quiches for Picky Eaters

I love to cook, but I hate to cook. You know the feeling? I love it when I can be creative and do it on a whim when the muse hits. However, the mundane daily planning of 3-4 meals a day for picky eaters when all they want is fast – scratch that, instant – becomes more of a chore than a hobby. With two little boys at my feet, whining and complaining how hungry they are (after all, it’s been 20 minutes since their last infusion), I try to come up with new and exciting healthy options for them. Not always easy.

Some days inspiration hits. This was one of those days. It was breakfast time and I didn’t want to do the standard weekday fare, fruit and scrambled eggs. So, looking over what I had in my pantry and fridge, I came up with a plan. Wasn’t sure if it would work, but it was worth a shot. What I ended up with surprised even me.

First I mixed butter, bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese together into a crumble. I pressed the mixture into the bottoms of muffin cups lined with foil liners. I suppose you could do it without the liners, but for me that was a safety precaution just in case the whole thing went awry. I baked that while I mixed up some eggs, flour, milk and cheese. When the crumble crust was done setting, I poured in the egg mixture to just shy of the top of the cups and popped it in the oven with a little prayer, “please turn out.”

When I took them out they had fluffed up like muffins and looked delicious. They tasted just as good as they looked. Cheesy fluffy eggs on a crumbly crust with that salty tang of the Parmesan. And we were able to pull them out of the wrappers and eat them like muffins. Big hit with my little men, and big bonus points for mom. Add some other healthy stuff like veggies and you’ve got a champ of a breakfast, even if you’re on the run. When you make them in muffin cups, you can even personalize them to each child, or adult, you’re serving. They were pretty quick and easy and would make quite an impression at a Sunday brunch or ladies tea. At least I sure felt like a rock star, and that’s what counts, right?

RECIPE:

Crust:

1/3 C bread crumbs

3T parmesan cheese

1/4 C butter, softened

Blend together with a fork then press into muffin cups to form a crust, bake 8-10 minutes at 350 or until golden brown.

Filling:

4 eggs

1/2 C cheese (swiss or sharp cheddar give a nice tang)

2T milk

3T flour

1t nutmeg

parsley

Blend everything but parsley together and pour over baked crusts to about 1/8-inch from top of muffin cup. Sprinkle with parsley. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Suggestion: Add veggies like spinach, mushrooms, peppers, etc. to egg mixture, or to each cup separately.

Responses

  1. haha – that first paragraph is the story of my life! hit it right on the head! nice recipe – thanks for the post!

    Like

    • Isn’t it the truth? Hope your boys like the quiche. Thanks for dropping in!

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

