Posted by: Modern Mom | February 8, 2012

Our New Love

I’m starting to think I may have had a momentary lapse in judgment when I agreed to get a puppy. My hubby has been telling me, since early December, about an ‘accidental litter’ a guy he works with had. When I heard the word puppy, I stopped him and reminded him that my hands were plenty full and I had no need for another being to potty train, feed, water, train in obedience, and take care of. End of story.

Another week went by and the subject came up again. Hubby says, “Steve says they’ll be small dogs. No bigger than about 15 pounds.” This surprised me because neither my husband or I are “small dog people”. We have had large dogs, labs mostly, and that was what I always pictured us with. We don’t like small dogs. (ahem. no offense.)

“Well,” I replied, “if I ever was to get a small dog, I would get something like a Corgie.”

“Funny you should say that. These puppies are half Corgie.” Crap. There goes half of my argument.

I stewed on that a little longer. Then a few weeks ago, out of the blue, he sends me pictures of these puppies. What a low down, dirty trick. I mean, what a crummy rotten thing to do to a girl. You can’t just send me pictures of puppies! He knows me. He knows I’m weak. I can’t go to an animal shelter without wanting to bring everyone, and I mean everyone, home with me. The only times I’ve allowed myself into a shelter I’ve come home with cats. Yes, that’s plural. It’s a sickness.

So, we had the discussion. All the what-ifs and the are-we-readies. The reminders of all the garbage you must deal with when you have a puppy. I must admit, I was a little blinded by those adorable pictures. You can’t just send me pictures of puppies! I was under duress when I agreed to this. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

After a week of debate, we scheduled a time to visit the remaining puppies to see if we liked them. We both knew that there was no way, if we went to “visit”, that we’d come home empty handed. We’re realists. One beautiful Saturday afternoon on the 28th of January, we packed up the kids for a ride in the car, without telling them anything about puppies.

It was apparent when we arrived that we would not be leaving without adding a new family member. The boys were ecstatic to see puppies and the puppies were pretty excited as well. Kids and puppies, a winning combo. Hubby asked the boys which one of the two remaining puppies they would like to take home. My son’s reply was, “BOTH! Are we done here?” and he was ready to go home.

I kinda pictured that going differently. Oh well. It came down to choosing and I had to be the one to make the decision. I chose the larger of the two left because it’s already a small dog, and I didn’t want too small of a dog. I thought the dog would hold his ground a little better against my boys if he had a little more size on his side.

We named him Stogie. Appropriate because he’s stubby and brown. He’s a Boston Terrier/Corgie mix. He’s getting used to the boys and their wildness and learning how to stay out from under foot. And he’s just cute as a button. He is still a puppy, though. Now that he’s becoming more comfortable, he’s getting in more trouble. Chewing things, tearing things up. Why is it that dogs won’t chew all the toys you buy them but everything else is so tempting? Yes, I was fooled by cute puppy pictures, and there’s no going back now. He’s here to stay.

Responses

  1. hi is adorable!

    Like

  2. […] are many reasons I didn’t want a dog. I still say I was under duress when convinced to get a puppy. I had a laundry list of reasons not to have a dog but somehow the laundry list got lost when I saw […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

