Posted by: Modern Mom | September 9, 2012

Jelly Love

I simply adore homemade jams and jellies. Sure, there’s a lot of work involved, but isn’t it worth it? I got some yellow plums from someone at church. They weren’t very good to just eat, but I wanted to try making jelly with them. I haven’t made jelly in a year and have been feeling the itch. So today, that’s exactly what I did. I am so jazzed with the results!

I have ten beautiful jars of this golden yellow jelly glistening on my table top, popping away. Isn’t that one of the most satisfying sounds in the world? The crisp pop of a jar lid after you’ve slaved away preserving pickles, relish, jam, jelly or whatever it is you’ve been slaving over. I like to sit with a cold drink and just quietly listen to the lids popping. Of course, quiet doesn’t exist at my house any more. But you get the drift.

This jelly is amazing. I don’t know what kind of plums these were but I want more! The color is beautiful, a rich golden, but the flavor is sweet and slightly sour. It’s a grown-up jelly. Not the sickening sweet strawberry or grape the kids love. No. This is something really special. So, if you find this in your Christmas package this year, feel especially loved. I only have ten jars, and I’m feeling pretty in love with it right now. I just may hoard it all for myself.

Responses

  1. can i have one! lol

    Like

  2. I agree there is nothing like homemade 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

