Posted by: Modern Mom | December 1, 2012

Candy Wonderland

My mom bought a gingerbread house kit. She brought it to my house. I was really hoping she would just keep it at her house and let the boys do it there. In any case, we had a gingerbread house to make.

She had visions of a sweet Christmas memory and two boys sitting putting candy on a perfect little gingerbread house. And rainbows and sparkles, sugar and spice, and everything nice.

I had visions of frosting everywhere, candy everywhere, and a huge mess. Plus sugared up, crazed little wild things bouncing off the walls.

The boys just had visions of candy. Period. That’s all they cared about.

I made them sit and put a few pieces on the house before they could eat any. I know, I’m a super mean mom. When they figured out that the candy was meant for the little house and not them, they sort of lost interest and just started doing their own thing.

Oh well, it went pretty well for a while. At least much better than I saw it going in my mind. More like a blending between my vision and my mom’s vision of how it would go. A win in my book. And after the sugar highs had worn off it was close to bed time so we could take advantage of the crash and dump them in bed. Score!

IMG_2874

IMG_2875

IMG_2877

IMG_2879

IMG_2879

IMG_2882

Leave a Reply

Categories

