Posted by: Modern Mom | May 20, 2013

Camp Elkins

After hosting two back-to-back birthday parties for my boys last year, I decided I’d take it easier on myself this year and do one combination party. They agreed on a camping theme. That sounded like fun to me, so I got started. I designed the invitations myself so that I could use the elements in other party things like the favors. I like continuity, but I don’t do the licensed character parties with printed plates and such.

The weather was not good to us, but hey, who hasn’t camped in the rain? Especially in the Pacific Northwest. So, we soldiered on and the kids had a blast regardless of the weather. They played on the new play structure. We roasted marshmallows and made s’mores over the camp fire. That was possibly everyone’s favorite part. We did have to skip the cute little tents in the yard, though. Darn.

Here are some of the details from the party. I didn’t get many actual party pics because it was raining, and I was busy with s’more making.

IMG_3376

IMG_3375

These “hobo packs” were the party favors.

IMG_3377

Campfire cupcakes and chocolate kiss “acorns”. Tasty.

IMG_3382

IMG_3387

IMG_3389

IMG_3390

IMG_3388

IMG_3395

IMG_3392

IMG_3393

IMG_3400

IMG_3401

IMG_3411

IMG_3423

What was inside the hobo packs; gummy bears, s’mores mix, compass, frog, and bandana.

 

Responses

  1. What a great idea! I’ll have to read this more. You may not remember me…we were in the Legacy mom’s group together. Probably in 2008. 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

