Posted by: Modern Mom | August 6, 2013

Took my family circus to the zoo…

The boys are wild. Animals, in fact. So why not take them to the zoo?

I haven’t been to the zoo in two years. Why? Because the last time I was there, I was by myself with the two of them. Wy was 3, and the baby was 1. I made the mistake of taking a single stroller so I had no containment for the 3 year old. At one point I lost him. It was terrifying. I had taken the toddler out to stretch his legs and turned around and my oldest was gone. Nowhere to be seen. It took me and another helpful mom 5 whole minutes to discover where he’d run off to. Five minutes! (if you don’t have kids, you don’t know how long 5 minutes is) I swore I wouldn’t return until they were about thirty.

They are now 3 and 5, so I’m a long way from thirty, but I had help today. My friend, her husband, and her mother, along with their 2 year old, all headed out early this morning.

We did the zoo on “kid speed”. My oldest has the attention span of a gnat, and acts like he’s on a scavenger hunt simply checking things off his list. Ten seconds at each animal is about all we got. If someone had paid me a nickel for each time I had to yell “Slow Down!”, it would have paid for our admission. That would have been sweet. This is how I saw most of the zoo…

IMG_4314

Of course, all of that running makes them hungry. Good thing I left the house this morning with; two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, two fruit snacks, two fruit leathers, two bags of dried apples, two granola bars and 64 ounces of water. I came home with a much lighter backpack.

Here are a few of the animals I was able to quickly snap before we had to sprint to the next enclosure.

IMG_4399

IMG_4281

IMG_4286

IMG_4298

IMG_4302

IMG_4316

IMG_4319

IMG_4326

IMG_4340

A good morning. And I’m actually considering getting another family membership. Though, next time, I will have to remember my leash.

Leave a Reply

Categories

