Posted by: Modern Mom | June 19, 2015

Trail Mix Cookies

When all else fails and you can’t manage to write a blog post, share a recipe.

Today’s recipe is brought to you by the letter Mmmmm. I wanted to bake a cookie with my husband’s name on it for Father’s Day. He likes a “meatier” cookie with more substance to it, like the traditional oatmeal. I created what could possibly be my new favorite cookies. I started with my grandmother’s tried and true chocolate chip cookie recipe, and built on that.

These are rich and buttery with the crunch of the granola, a nuttiness from the wheat germ, and a little chewiness from the raisins. The chocolate chips and M&Ms add the sweetness you want from a good cookie. All combined you have a cookie that you can eat dozens of. (I may have already done that today. Don’t tell.) And even though I had a Mommy Moment and forgot one batch in the oven, the kids still ate the overdone ones. Win win.

IMG_7094

Trail Mix Cookies bake 375 10-12 mins (or until golden brown)
1/2 C butter
2/3 C shortening
1 C ea sugar and brown sugar
> cream together
2 eggs
2 t vanilla
> combine until smooth
2 1/2 C flour
1 t each salt and baking soda
> mix well. now the fun begins.
1/2 C each: wheat germ, oats, granola, choc chips, M&Ms, raisins (or other chopped dried fruit)
> mix well. scoop onto baking sheet

If you want them less gooey add a bit more flour. I like mine gooey. I’m claiming these are healthy because they have wheat germ and granola in them. I plan to eat several (dozen) of them. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

